Skip to content

Technology Free for Seven Days – Can you do it?

April 7, 2011

Bling.  Bling.  Bling.  Bling, bling, bling, bling……

As the airbus 320 rolled to a stop, the cabin chirped like birds on a crisp spring morning as countless cell phones sprang to life.  My phone registered more than a hundred unread emails, while fellow flyers’ emails spilled over the 200 mark.  We accumulated dozens of missed texts and phone calls.  But…the world did survive without us…and….

Yes.  I survived 7 days without a phone, email and the Internet.  A feat in itself, considering my first line of business in the morning is to roll over and check my iPhone apps for the day’s most up-to-date stories. 

For the past week I’ve been out of the country for a wedding and the closest I’ve come to knowing anything besides what time I’m needed at the beach was when we turned on the T.V. for a few minutes each morning.

So, now I am having the most difficult time switching from beach and breeze mode to news and deadline mode, when a week ago it was all I could do to keep from checking my phone, email and Internet every few minutes. 

It makes me wonder how others respond to days or weeks without WiFi or cell phone usage?  Do you return to business-as-usual or is there a lull in your return to the normal daily grind?  Or – can you handle a few days off from technology? Really 😉

Part of me feels like I’m light-years behind because today news is old hours after it hits the Internet – so trying to re-enter a constant flow of information is slightly overwhelming. 

After a few days, I’m sure everything will skip to its usual tune, but it makes me wonder if next time I’ll checkout for the entire week or pay the exorbitant amount for the international data plan.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

